Author Topic: GS Mini strings to try for a beginner?  (Read 2905 times)

In_Tune

GS Mini strings to try for a beginner?
« on: July 13, 2021, 10:49:15 PM »
I'm just starting out, and got myself a nice, used GSM.  I know it comes with 13s stock (although mine didn't since it was used), but I'm looking for some beginner-friendly strings that are somewhat easy on the fingers.  I've tried a handful of brands and gauges, and I'd probably say the D'addario EXP lights or custom lights are my favorite.  I'm sure I'm giving up some volume and tone, but I'm just playing by myself for now, so no need to get super loud.

I like the silk and steel strings that I tried, but they are definitely a lot more mellow than the EXP phosphor bronze.  I read that silk and bronze sort of fall in between silk and steel, and PB.  Anyone try those?  They come in 12s, but they are supposed to be lower tension than regular strings.  The John Pearse silk and bronze get pretty good reviews.  If those don't work, I'll probably just go back to the EXP custom light, since they are fairly easy on the fingers, and still sound reasonable.  I did also try some extra lights (10s), but that high E string just felt too thin and fragile.

Edward

• Global Moderator
  • Veteran Member
Re: GS Mini strings to try for a beginner?
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2021, 11:02:43 AM »
Hey there In Tune,

Welcome to the forum, and congrats on the GSm ...I love these guitars!

Sure, 12s will help ease the finger pressure needed.  Silk and Steels are worth a try, but may I recommend you try the elixir lights (12s) in phosphor bronze.  These will be markedly lighter in feel than mediums, the PB composition will yield bigger, warmer bass tone, and of course the nanoweb coating really does a lot to preserve the tone over the strings' uselful lifespan.  Elixir also makes a custom-lght set should those gauges appeal to you more.